Setting The Example

Setting the example of a balanced and healthy lifestyle

Stormy Night

Posted by fsumeg1884 on June 14, 2013

Good morning everybody! Yesterday turned out to be a pretty scary day for us here in Atlanta. Earlier in the day while I was on the elliptical at the gym I overheard people discussing the storm that would be moving over the city later in the evening. Calling it a storm was an understatement. About 8pm I was minding my own business, surfing Facebook on the laptop and just as I was reading about tornado sightings in Atlanta I heard this loud BOOM, the power went out, the tornado sirens started going off, and my 45 lb dog jumped into my lap. I immediately went into panic mode, grabbed some flashlights, and went to the bathroom. The storm quickly passed but nerves took a bit longer to calm down.

A tornado was seen in Sandy Springs  which is just slightly north of Atlanta and near my hospital as all my coworkers were leaving the hospital to head home. Thank goodness no one was hurt! This morning I headed out for a 4 miler with lexie before the heat got to bad. There were lots of tree limbs down but no major damage that I saw.

My run wasn’t stellar but not awful either. I think on these mornings I head about before breakfast I still need to take a nibble on somethings. My tank was totally empty by the time I returned. But as I tell my patients, there are days when working out is going to feel great and you’ll be on such a high from it. Others days are not going to be as great and you’ll feel like giving up but the important thing is to keep putting a little effort in each day and those small steps over time will add up to longer distances.

egg breakfast

Lately after my runs I have been craving eggs so I whipped up my usually 3 egg omelet topped with ketchup. Yes I said ketchup! Every since I was little I have done this and while people may look at me weird when I do it, I still love it. Anyone else have some weird combinations?

Leave a Reply

 
